Quilting help please

shorty
TNN nerd

Quilting help please

Post by shorty » Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:16 pm

Can anyone please help or point me to some websites that help!
I'm just trying to make my first quilt which is kind of a rush job for a special Birthday ( my Mums). At least she will overlook my mistakes !!
I've sewn the squares together ( 25 , 24x24cm squares in a block of 5x5 ).
Just not sure what quilting pattern to do. I have done some free motion quilting practice and am keen to try a simple pattern but need some instruction on colour thread ( quilt has deep red, teal and fawn/beiges). Also no idea where to start quilting ( in the middle?).
Am thinking I need to baste or pin well first and then quilt and then bind ??? Any good binding tutes around??!!
Thanks - all help much appreciated

jennyo
TNN nerd

Re: Quilting help please

Post by jennyo » Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:01 pm

Sounds like you've got the next steps sorted, you just need reassurance (and I'm no expert - have just bumbled my way through my first few quilts!) ! I would probably quilt in red, but hard to know without seeing. Sounds lovely though. You can start anywhere, but I think the centre is traditional. Anything free motion will look lovely - personally I can only do loops so that's what I do!
Here's a binding tutorial: http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.co.nz/20 ... orial.html
Post a picture when you're done!

sable
Spinning Goddess

Post by sable » Sat Mar 23, 2013 1:49 pm