How useful/practical are pilchers?

Chaucey
TNN nerd

How useful/practical are pilchers?

Post by Chaucey » Wed Jan 18, 2006 9:26 am

Hello.

I'm a beginner knitter (I can do scarves, booties...) and I was wondering whether it might be worthwhile to knit pilchers.

Can someone please tell me how they use pilchers? Is a pilcher sufficient over a fitted nappy, as a sort of cover? Or would you still need a real waterproof layer in there somewhere like PUL?

I understand that wool is best, do you guys use 100% wool or do you prefer mixes. Somebody mentioned that natural wool with lots of lanolin on it still was good, but is it essential??

Does anyone have links to easy patterns?

Thanks!

sarahw
TNN nerd

Post by sarahw » Wed Jan 18, 2006 9:56 am

IMHO... wool soakers/pilchers/overnaps are essential!! :D

Not everyone's taste, and not all babies tolerate or like wool, but great for those who do. My boy has a bit of a wool fetish - he used to snuggle up to his Rosies wool cover.

I find a wool soaker is all you need over a fitted, even for 12 hours+ overnight. Wool breathes wonderfully, and doesn't hold smells. To make them more waterproof I re-lanolise my soakers every few washes by giving them a final soak for about 5 minutes in warm water with a small amount of lanolin melted in.

I use them in the daytime too as little shorts. Longies (leggings) are great for winter.
Back for another round with baby #3

Dunners
TNN oracle

Post by Dunners » Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:06 pm

Hi Chaucey,

Here's a thread with some info about the wonders of woollen overpants (which act as the waterproof layer - no extra cover required) http://www.thenappynetwork.org.nz/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=2708&highlight=soaker+pattern

Here's a thread for patterns http://www.thenappynetwork.org.nz/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=478&highlight=soaker+pattern

And a thread to possibly inspire you http://www.thenappynetwork.org.nz/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=1715&highlight=soaker+pattern