Hand Pushed On Snaps?

MerlinFluff
TNN convert

Hand Pushed On Snaps?

Post by MerlinFluff » Thu Feb 03, 2011 10:56 am

I was thinking about getting some metal snaps you can use with this tool: http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/Listing ... =351542799

Anyone know what this is like? I wanted to try something cheap out on mamma pads and bibs (instead of velcro) just to see if sewing is going to be something I'll carry on with (a total newbie here!! lol). Don't want to buy a snap press or pliers until I know I'll use them and not let them sit in a cupboard gathering dust :oops:

Do you think this tool and the snaps will do those small jobs, even if just for a while?

Also, any idea where to buy the metal snaps they are talking about??

sjl
TNN nerd

Re: Hand Pushed On Snaps?

Post by sjl » Thu Feb 03, 2011 11:08 am

That auction sounds expensive - as do their snaps - they're available at out local sewing place for about$3.50 and snaps are about the same, rather than $5.
Usually even cheaper at spottie or some emporiums.

The tool is used with a hammer rather than just pushing by hand, it can take a bit of practice to get them centred right.

Work on a non-slip surface, with a board or something underneath. I generally wiggle all the prongs through the cloth before putting on the stud/socket as I find it's more reliable.
Image Image

Claire
TNN oracle

Post by Claire » Thu Feb 03, 2011 11:15 am

I've tried those things and its really hard to get it all centred and not moving around while you hammer it! In the end I got one of these:
http://www.snapsource.com/store/product ... ng%20Tools
and its great.

0ebuny
TNN nerd

Post by 0ebuny » Thu Feb 03, 2011 11:30 am

ive found the little metal tool (like in that listing) fine i wouldent want to be doing them in mass it does take a little longer than using a normal press but way cheaper than a press if your only making a few things for yourself.